sweet second baby: elliott shields!

elliott shields

Hi sweet baby.  Time is flying like crazy, you are growing like a weed, and I can’t believe how soon you will actually be here.  The last time I wrote to you, you were a tiny seed, an idea, and person who would exist in the far off future.  Now you are a BOY, a strong, wiggly, squirmy boy.  You have name, Mr. Elliott, and a fan club, and even your older brother has started noticing that Mama’s tummy is swelling and something is moving under there.

Having you growing in my belly is different than when I was having your brother.  Because of the way you are positioned, I feel your kicks and wiggles all the time, and it’s very strong.  One time I was giving Daddy a hug, and you kicked so hard that he felt it in his belly! Your big brother, Milo, likes to pull up my shirt and pat my belly.  I know you’ve given him a little kick at least once, but I don’t think he’ll understand that you’re coming to our family until you’re finally here.  When he goes to daycare, he plays with baby dolls and real babies and when I pick him up, I picture him being the same sweet boy to you.  I can’t wait for him to meet you!

Daddy and I are busy getting things organized for when you come.  Our house is cozy but small, so we are making plans to find places to tuck all the babies, and tuck all the toys, and tuck all the books.  We have our plans all set for your infant days; I will stay home with you and we’ll get in some good bonding time while Daddy is at work and Milo is at school.  Over the summer, you and Milo and I will have adventures and hang with Daddy on the weekends.  By the time September is here, you will already be such a big boy.

Sometimes it seems silly to think so far in the future, and other times, I realize that it’s barely in the future at all.  We will blink and you’ll be here.  We’ll blink twice and you’ll be pulling up on the furniture and giggling.  Three blinks and you’ll be chasing your brother around.  In the time it took me to write this sentence, you’re going to go to school, make best friends, meet your loves, find your passion, and I’ll be old and reading these letters and crying at how insanely fast it went.

Knowing even a corner of the truth of how fast time goes makes it hard for me, because I WANT to scream, “Get here, Elliott, I absolutely can not wait to hold you and kiss your eyes and I need to snuggle you.”  But I can’t rush time.  Plus, right now, I get to keep every kick and wiggle as a secret language between you and I, and that’s my favorite part of being your mama; our stolen months before the rest of the world gets to see you as the shining star you are.

So stay cozy, little baby.  Kick me hello and wiggle me goodnight, and I will patiently make our lives ready for your big entrance.  When you do finally arrive, you are going to be showered with so much love and attention and curious pokes and sweet snuggles.  Rest up, you’re going to need it!

I love you with my whole heart.  Love, your Mama.

milo and elliott

One thought on “sweet second baby: elliott shields!

  1. Pingback: “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” -Madeline L’Engle | simple girl

Leave a Reply

